wordpress test site

Post Reply
mister_v
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:19 pm

wordpress test site

Post by mister_v »

Hi,

I have a site where I use wordpress,
and it works fine.

But now I want to create the same site on my local PC,
to try some things.

I setup apache, copied all the files and database.
That it is ok, and the first page is presented when I go to http://localhost
But when I tried to login on the site, I get send to the real site (eg: mydomain.com).
The domain is added to all the links.

So how do I change this setting?
so I can work only on the localhost?

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:52 am

Re: wordpress test site

Post by chris »

I think the easiest way is to use you domain name
and add it to the hosts-file of your local PC
and point it to localhost.

But you wont be able to access the actual site,
until your from the line form you hosts-file.


There are other option,
using a sub-domain,
or a temporary URL
but I haven't worked with those.

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:52 am

Re: wordpress test site

Post by chris »

A little tip if you adapt the the hosts-file of your PC;
use private mode or incognito.

Some files get cached, if you use the same browser for both sites,
It can cause problems.

Post Reply